Book Review: The Wanderer Reborn by Natasha Woodcraft

Dear Friend,

When Natasha Woodcraft’s first book, “The Wanderer Scorned” was published I have to say I was reluctant at first to read it. Whilst I enjoy biblical fiction, a story about Kayin (Cain), the first murderer, just did not appeal to me. However, hearing good things about her book, I decided to try it for myself. I am so glad I did and Natasha has certainly turned my thinking around. In my opinion, it is such an interesting and well-written story. I was completely gripped by it.

You can read my book review of Natasha’s first book here

Her first book will also be free to download on Kindle from 1st-5th Dec, so I recommend you make the most of this deal then. Here’s the link to Amazon: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Wanderer-Scorned-ancient-tale-reimagined-ebook/dp/B0B6D6179R/ref=sr_1_1?crid=3AB3Y1WDCBKMK&keywords=the+wanderer+scorned+by+natasha+woodcraft&qid=1669631513&s=digital-text&sprefix=tje+wanderer+scorned+by+natasha+woodcraft%2Cdigital-text%2C85&sr=1-1

When the opportunity came up to read an advanced copy of her second book in the series, “The Wanderer Reborn” and to be on her book launch team, I jumped at the chance. It was already on my ‘to read list’ but now I get to read it before it was published and help to promote it.

The story is told from Awan’s perspective one of Kayin’s sisters and follows on from where the first book ended. At the story’s beginning, we are told how the family members are all grieving in their own way over the murder of Havel at the hands of his brother Kayin.

Awan’s character is developed further in this book. I particularly enjoyed reading more about her relationship with her mother, Chavah (Eve), how close they were and the wisdom Chavah shares with her.

“I will consider what you have said, Ima. I do not deny that I need forgiveness also, and I shall examine my heart. Although I do not see how my lack of forgiveness for Kayin makes any difference.”

“Perhaps not to him, for as you said, he is not here to receive it. But it may make a difference to your heart, child, and your future walk with Yahweh.”

This really resonated with me as I have had an experience in the past when I had held onto unforgiveness and anger towards someone who was no longer in my life and it was many years before God enabled me to forgive him. During those years of unforgiveness, my physical health suffered as did my relationship with God.

Awan, despite having her family around her, is lonely. She has lost both Havel, her twin, and Kayin, the one she loved. However, her relationship with God does grow over the years and she recognises from her time alone with him that he is sufficient for her and she learns to trust him.

“It took me time to build my own connection with Yahweh. I spent a while feeling like I was wandering. But Yahweh kept me safe, and He came to me when I eventually asked Him to. He has been my constant companion since then. Although I may never marry, at least I will have Yahweh. I am content.”

In this book, Awan goes on both a physical and spiritual journey. As she takes a physical journey she learns that she, as much as Kayin, needs God’s mercy, and as she journeys, God prepares her heart to meet Kayin. She experiences forgiveness and grace from God which then enabled her to forgive Kayin when the time came.

“In my loneliness, I turned to Yahweh. I allowed Yahweh to take the place in my heart that was left empty. He has always been there, waiting to pick up the pieces of my brokenness as soon as I was ready to let Him. My journey here arose from a desire to spend time with Yahweh when I felt myself wavering.”

Over the years since Kayin left his family and home and has been wandering, God has taken Kayin on his own spiritual journey and when Awan joins Kayin she helps him continue on this journey. Kayin has repented, accepted God’s judgement and sought forgiveness from God and he receives redemption from him.

“Living with Yahweh’s justice taught me to appreciate His holiness and my rightful place before Him. I know that I deserve nothing. Yet, in His mercy, He sought me out. Awan has helped me to see Yahweh’s goodness once more. She has helped me realise that Havel was right: Elohim never punished me undeservedly but was training me to rely on Him.”

I enjoyed this book on several levels. Firstly, as a story, which like the first book, is gripping. The characters are well-written and relatable. The description of the land, the animals, farming and new inventions to help in their daily lives are also described well.

Second, I liked how Natasha has woven scriptural truth into the story. I’d never considered that there would have been older songs/psalms of lament and praise before those recorded in the Bible, written by such people as David and Moses. But it makes perfect sense to include these songs as a way for Adam and Eve’s family to communicate and worship God. I could imagine well how their songs could have been used and adapted by future generations. It struck me as a clever and valid inclusion within the book.

In Chapter 6 Chavah gives a beautiful description of love which is very similar to the description of love found in 1 Corinthians 13.

Another example of scriptural truth is in Chapter 7 when Adam tells Awan she was right when she told him that his sin had been paid for and that he shouldn’t be carrying it around anymore. For me, this points to what Jesus did on the cross, bearing my sin and yours, paying the price for our sins so we would be free to enjoy a relationship with God.

Third, it made me think about Cain in a different way and caused me to look again at what is said about him in the Bible. In his justice, God punished Cain for committing murder. I never considered that God was also showing him grace and mercy. God placed the mark on him for protection and by allowing him to live, gave Cain the opportunity to come to repentance and return to God. In her appendix Natasha shares that Cain named his first son, Enoch (Chanoch) which means ‘dedicated’. This could mean that he was dedicating his son to God. Although we don’t know for sure that Cain repented, what Natasha has written is plausible and fits with the character of God, who doesn’t want anyone to perish and who wants all of us to come to know him as Lord and Saviour.

I found what Natasha had written in the appendix and looking at the questions at the end of the book to be a helpful and useful addition to my reading experience.

If you enjoy reading historical and biblical fiction then I recommend both this book and the first book in the series to you as a good read. If you are also interested in reading fiction books which point you to exploring faith and learning about the God who created you and loves you personally, then these books will also help you in this.

You can preorder the paperback via Natasha’s website or you can preorder the eBook on Amazon: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0B82BXFTT?fbclid=IwAR0cfnOhWlhmBt2EPd_Nx95iztTtQx3hgmJsyH5GQCSJsKsU-pnlN6X9ZQg

If you want to know more about Natasha Woodcraft, her books, songs and poetry, then please click on the link below which will take you to her website: https://natashawoodcraft.com/

3 responses to “Book Review: The Wanderer Reborn by Natasha Woodcraft”

  1. olusolasophiaanyanwu Avatar
    olusolasophiaanyanwu

    What a lovely review. So detailed!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started